If you check out one new band for 2012, make sure it’s Gary Clark Jr.!!!


As we waited outside of the MtvU Woodie Awards Festival at SXSW, I could’ve sworn I was hearing a familiar voice, one that may have reflected the early years of legendary Jimmy Hendrix. Gary Clark Jr. was the band playing on stage when I entered the gates, and they immediately caught my attention, not wanting their set to end. They bring back that bluesy rock sound, with tons of ripping guitar solos. This is the type of music and band that one hopes to discover while making the trek around downtown Austin, TX., at SXSW. I highly recommend checking out these videos, and downloading more of Gary Clark Jr.’s music.

Felix the Hat,
Live Music City, high hopes!

1 thought on “If you check out one new band for 2012, make sure it’s Gary Clark Jr.!!!

Leave a comment